Author Topic: Lne Corporal George J TATE  (Read 2302 times)

Offline Jelly Baby

Lne Corporal George J TATE
« on: November 15, 2017, 11:58:24 am »
Hello, it's me again! I thought it better to start a new thread for George, but I think he has definite ties with Thomas Richard Evans!
George was one of 2 sons of Joseph TATE and Catherine Jane PULLING, the other being Henry (or Harry as he was called). Joseph was a Baker by trade and they lived for a while at Holyhead before moving to the Great Orme. George was born in the Dec Qtr of 1918, whilst Harry arrived in the Sep Qtr of 1921, both in the Conway Registration District.
George joined the Royal Welsh Fusiliers and was sadly killed in Belgium on 21 Sep 1944. He is buried at the Valkenwaard War Cemetery in the Netherlands. Harry served as a Bombardier in India, but I don't know which regiment, as their Father, Joseph, served with the Lancashire Fusiliers for 15 years and was badly wounded in WW1. I'm not even sure of Harry survived the war.
Why my interest? Because when my Mother passed away in June, we found the newspaper clipping of George Tate's death in an old suitcase. I had never heard of George before and wondered why my Mum had kept this cutting for all those years.
Of course, when I discovered that George and his family lived on the Great Orme, I was most surprised and wondered if the Tate family had known the Evans family, who were coal dealers living at Bay View Terrace. Thus George would have been known to the family and the news of his death warranted sufficient concern as to keep the newspaper cutting.
Does anyone out there know anything about the Tate family? Did Harry come back from the War? Did he become a baker like his Father?

Offline Meleri

• Genealogy & Research team
Re: Lne Corporal George J TATE
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2017, 01:59:01 pm »